About TLS

Head of School: Meet Una

Meet Una

Una MacCarthy comes to The Lexington School from The Lexington School! A life-long educator, Una has been in independent school leadership for twenty-five years.

Since 1996, Una has been involved in all aspects of The Lexington School’s leadership. As Middle School Head and Assistant Head of School, she is advisor to the Head of School and lead Division Head. As such, Una has been an integral part of all strategic planning initiatives, school task forces and committees, and she is a strong implementer of resulting change. 

Una: "Twenty-two years of love for this school has allowed me the opportunity to build an incomparable portfolio of administrative experiences. Collaborating with an incredible team of professionals, I am proud to be a part of this nationally-ranked school. We have come a long way. I understand the significance of transition, the need for stability, and the boldness needed to continue moving forward." 

Originally from Glasgow, Kentucky, Una attended The Masters School in Dobbs Ferry, New York, completed her undergraduate degree at The University of Kentucky, and received her Masters in Educational Administration from The University of South Carolina. She is married to a Lexington School alum, three of her four children have attended TLS, and she has long-standing and deep relationships with generations of TLS alums and their parents. 

Una: "I love what I do because I believe in what I do.  I am passionate about TLS because year after year I have seen the power of its influence in the lives of the children who walk these halls. I am energized and enthusiastic to continue the good work that is part of the history of The Lexington School." 

Una will begin her work as Head of School on July 1, 2019.

New Head of School Announcement

The Board of Trustees is excited to announce that Una MacCarthy has been unanimously selected to become the next Head of School at The Lexington School. Una has been a dedicated leader at TLS since 1996 and is well prepared for this next step in her career. Her first year as Head of School will start on July 1, 2019.
The process for selecting our next Head of School began in July with the formation of the Search Committee composed of seven current TLS Board Members. The search firm RG175 was hired to conduct a national search which attracted more than a hundred applications. RG175 narrowed this incredibly strong pool down to ten semi-finalists who visited the TLS campus for interviews with the Search Committee. From those ten, the Search Committee selected the three finalists whom you have met over the past two weeks. It should be noted that Una was the only semi-finalist candidate to receive the highest ranking from all Search Committee members.

I want to personally thank the TLS community for their active participation in this process. The Search Committee received thoughtful feedback from the Search Advisory Committee and from many members of our community, which included more than three hundred fifty online surveys. From all of this feedback, it was evident that Una was the clear choice.

Following in the footsteps of Chuck Baldecchi will not be easy. The Board is absolutely confident that Una is up to the challenge and will provide the vision and leadership to build upon The Lexington School’s success. This is an exciting time of growth and opportunity for TLS. Please join us in congratulating Una.

Thank you for your support,

Chris Young `90
Board President

Head of School Search Committee

Chris Young ‘90
President Board of Trustees, Alumnus, Parent

Luke Fallon ‘85
Trustee, Alumnus, Parent

Eunice Beatty
Trustee, Grandparent

Chad Pennington
Trustee, Parent

Kristi Middleton
Trustee, Parent

David Reeder
Trustee, Parent

Pem Ausbrook ‘80
Trustee, Alumna, Past Parent

Advisory Committee

Luke Fallon '85, Co-Chair, Board Vice President
Geriann Blevins, Co-Chair, Director of Admission
Lisa Williams, PA President
Jane Childers, Division Head
Donna Hutton, Division Head
Amanda Hale, Director of Development
Celeste Neuman, Trustee
Brady Barlow, Trustee
King Offutt, Trustee
Laura Bennett, Trustee
Holly Powell '96, Current Parent
Jory Karthikeyan, Current Parent
Amanda Saha, Current Parent
Tony Beatty, Current Parent
Emily Stout, Preschool Representative
Tracy Young, Lower School Representative
Kelly Telech, Middle School Representative
Courtenay Macaulay, Learning Center Representative
Meredith McCoun, Specials Representative
Grace Newsome, School Counselor
The mission of The Lexington School is to provide an education of the highest quality to students in preschool through middle school. In a structured, nurturing environment, The Lexington School seeks to instill integrity, a life-long enthusiasm for learning, and a strong work ethic.
1050 Lane Allen Road
Lexington, KY 40504
© 2008 – 2018 The Lexington School · Privacy