About TLS


Una MacCarthy comes to The Lexington School from The Lexington School! A life-long educator, Una has been in independent school leadership for twenty-five years.

Since 1996, Una has been involved in all aspects of The Lexington School’s leadership. As Middle School Head and Assistant Head of School, she is an advisor to the Head of School and lead Division Head. As such, Una has been an integral part of all strategic planning initiatives, school task forces, and committees, and she is a strong implementer of resulting change. 

Una: "Twenty-two years of love for this school has allowed me the opportunity to build an incomparable portfolio of administrative experiences. Collaborating with an incredible team of professionals, I am proud to be a part of this nationally-ranked school. We have come a long way. I understand the significance of transition, the need for stability, and the boldness needed to continue moving forward." 

Originally from Glasgow, Kentucky, Una attended The Masters School in Dobbs Ferry, New York, completed her undergraduate degree at The University of Kentucky, and received her Masters in Educational Administration from The University of South Carolina. She is married to a Lexington School alum, three of her four children have attended TLS, and she has long-standing and deep relationships with generations of TLS alums and their parents. 

Una: "I love what I do because I believe in what I do.  I am passionate about TLS because year after year I have seen the power of its influence in the lives of the children who walk these halls. I am energized and enthusiastic to continue the good work that is part of the history of The Lexington School." 

Head of School

List of 1 members.

  • Photo of Una MacCarthy

    Una MacCarthy 

    Head of School

Division Heads

List of 4 members.

  • Photo of Tim Alford

    Tim Alford 

    Middle School Head
  • Photo of Eunice Beatty

    Eunice Beatty 

    Lower School Head
  • Photo of Jane Childers

    Jane Childers 

    Director of the Learning Center
  • Photo of Donna Hutton

    Donna Hutton 

    Director of Preschool


List of 4 members.

  • Photo of Beth Pride

    Beth Pride 

    Director of Communications and Marketing
  • Photo of Geriann Blevins

    Geriann Blevins 

    Director of Admission
  • Photo of Amanda Hale

    Amanda Hale 

    Director of Development
  • Photo of Susan O'Brien

    Susan O'Brien 

    Chief Financial Officer

Life Trustees

  • Mrs. Josephine E. Abercrombie (H’00), Founder
  • Mr. James G. Kenan
  • Mrs. Betty Kenan
  • Mr. William Young ’63
  • Mrs. Barbara Young
  • Mrs. Nancy Grimes
  • Mrs. Molly Strassner

2019-2020 Board of Trustees

Mr. Chris Young '90
Vice President
Mr. Luke Fallon '85
Mr. Jeff Truitt '85
Mrs. Kristi Middleton
Mrs. Amy Duzyk
Mr. John Kelly
  • Dr. Kimberly Absher
  • Dr. Falguni Amin-Zimmerman
  • Mrs. Shannon Arvin`90
  • Mrs. Preston Ausbrook '80
  • Mr. Brady Barlow
  • Mrs. Laura Bennett
  • Mr. Case Clay '89
  • Mrs. Marijo Foster (H`16)
  • Mrs. Fahmida Kalhoon
  • Mr. Steve Lawson
  • Mr. Matt Lutz
  • Mrs. Kristi Middleton
  • Mr. Tyler Nahra
  • Mr. King Offutt
  • Mr. Chad Pennington
  • Mr. Rob Perez
  • Mr. David Reeder
  • Mrs. Donna Shively
  • Ms. Caroline Van Meter
The mission of The Lexington School is to provide an education of the highest quality to students in preschool through middle school. In a structured, nurturing environment, The Lexington School seeks to instill integrity, a life-long enthusiasm for learning, and a strong work ethic.
1050 Lane Allen Road
Lexington, KY 40504
© 2008 – 2018 The Lexington School · Privacy